+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Sap in dry line

Default Sap in dry line

I have noticed that I have a fairly steady stream of sap (very small stream but steady) from my dry line. The amount is small compared to my wet line. I am wondering if anyone can tell me what would cause this? Is it an indication that my system is so tight that the dry line is actually sucking sap up to it from the wet line below it? What would cause this and how do I fix it (More boosters? Introduce some air? ) or is it nothing to be concerned about? This is my first year with vacuum so learning as I go.

Maybe the wet line couldn't keep up? Wet line froze? If it is not much I wouldn't worry about it thats one of the reasons for having dry line. If you continue to get it sap in the dry line its probably that your wet line can't keep up. What kind of booster do you have vertical or horizontal? You could install another wet line in the booster rather than installing another booster.

Do you have good slope on your lines? I have this problem in the swamp I tap, since it's so flat. I think it's also worse cause I don't use booster /manifolds there, just the two tee with jumper technique.

Otherwise, yeah your wetline must be too small. Do your lateral mains join the manifold high up closer to the dry line?
    Tim Whitens
    Willow Creek Farm
    Fulton, NY

3000 on vacuum, 3hp 3ph Busch pump, 2567 Gast
    30X8 Leader oil-fired evap. w/ steamaway
    Airablo 1000 RO
    6 Alpacas