+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Frost in Ground Effect Question

Default Frost in Ground Effect Question

This is my first year tapping sugar maples. I know in the woods the ground is still frozen. Last weekend I expected a run based upon past experiences tapping silver maples in my yard. So far I have collected 4 gallons of sap from 70 taps. Could it be that with the little snow on the ground in MN that the frost is deep causing the sap not to flow? The extened forcast looks to have some freezing/thawing temps again. The trees haven't budded yet like my silvers in my yards.

Any thoughts about this?

Thanks

I think it's a good theory. I think we experienced the same thing in the northern areas of New England. Textbook sugaring weather but the trees didn't produce. But finally it ran well for me on Yesterday and the day before (3/11 & 3/12).
    2012: Probably 750 gravity taps and 50 buckets.

600 gal stainless milk tank.
    2 - 100 gallon stock tanks
    one 30 gal barrel
    50 buckets

3' x 10' Waterloo Raised Flue wood fired evaporator w/ open pans.

12" x 20" Filter Canner

Sawmill next to sugarhouse solves my sugarwood problem

Gather with GMC 3500 2wd Pickup w/ 425 gallon Plastic Tank.

Been tapping here in Lyman NH since 1989 but I've been sugaring since 8 years old in 1968.

Default This year started early

Four miles from the Canadian border in Vermont, I had my first run on Feb 18, then 23, March 3, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 13, yesterday. This Feb 18 start is three weeks earlier than last year's first run March 12. I'm running less than last year, but not a great deal less unless this is the last run of the season.

Last year we had three to four feet of snow on the ground all winter and into late March. The ground beneath never froze. I was wallowing in mud in many places under the three feet of snow. This year the ground is still frozen now and not muddy like last year in the same places.