+ Reply to Thread

Thread: multiple hanging tubing on 7/16'' taps?

Default multiple hanging tubing on 7/16'' taps?

How you guys doing, cut me some slack seeing I'm brand new to this.

Basically there are clusters of Maple trees throughout my property, many of these are larger trees capable of holding 3 taps. Without using a pump, would it be feasible to simply drape tubing out of each tap into one Large 5 gallon food grade collection bucket per tree (at the base of the tree). Basically to save me from having to use 3 buckets per tree on my larger ones? Will the flow/production of sap be interrupted in comparison to hanging buckets? Also I've seen many tubes for 5/16'' taps. Is it unconventional to tube these older 7/16'' taps, and is the tube readily available?

best,

The tubing is meant for the tubIng spiles and yes you can run the tubing into the bucket but if you have some slope you could run gravity.

Trea,

I did what you are talking about for a few years and it works great. I did 3 or 4 taps in to a 5 gallon pail buried in the snow at the tree trunk. I just bought the semi rigid tubing and some "y" connectors and it worked great. One thing you will find it that unless you plan on collecting every day, you will fill that 5 gallon pail up VERY fast. My second year I did 2 taps per pail and that gave me a little more wiggle room with not collecting every day. The 5 gallon pails fill fast. Also another trick is to just drill a hole in the lid of the pail and stick your down spout tube through that...does a nice job of keeping debris and moths and other buggers out of your sap. Just snap the lid on in a couple spots though....in the cold, they can easily shatter or snap if you are trying to pry it off the entire way around.

Thats my experience. worked well and was a great way to do it for me.
    MapleME
    Brunswick, Maine
    2x5.5 Lapierre Raised Flue, AUF
    150 taps on gravity line
    2011 John Deere Gator XUV, gonna be a great hauler