+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: How to run new lines

Default How to run new lines

I am kinda new to making syrup. I currently have 75 buckets but I've caught the bug bad and am working every odd job I can to afford more syrup equipment. My wife thinks the extra money is to buy a new dining room set. Funny funny girl. Anyways, I am interested in running some lines to about 100 new taps. I don't have vacuum at this point but have been advised to still strive for 5 even thou I am going to use gravity untill I can but a vaccum. The question I have is if I ever decide to go to a wet line/dry line system which at this point I know nothing about but I heard alot about it at Verona and Letchworth schools I attended. Do I need to do anything special at this point to make it easier to transition to a wet/dry at a later date? Is a wet line/dry line even necessary on 100 taps? Hopefully someone can shed some light because I am heading to the woods next weekend to start running my lines. Thank you

100 taps should not require a wet/dry line. I would recommend running a 3/4 mainline and run 5/16 tubing striving for 15 taps per lateral. This way you will have some natural vacuum. it is very easy to switch to vacuum with only 100 taps. Just don't tell the wife.
    Bob- 4 x 12 Small Bros. Lightning w/raised flues-open pans
    20 x 40 sugarhouse, all tubing-main line to sugarhouse
    1400+- for 2011 & 100% vacuum
    Polaris 500 HO w/Tatou 4s Tracks
    1 Chocolate Lab from TEXAS