+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with ideas for an evaporator

Default Help with ideas for an evaporator

I have a stainless table top that is 72" long, 30" wide and 8 " deep that I want to convert into an evaporating system. I'm a total newbie to making maple syrup, have limited funds -of course- and plan to run 40 -50 taps with the goal of making 3- 5 gallons of syrup. I have extra stainless to make partitions, gradients, and subdivisions. How would you convert the table top to best suit my needs? Any help from the wise old sages would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

Pictures would help. you could build a simple block arch and set the "pan" on it. you will need some type of drain on it as well.
    Mike
    1000 taps on vac
    Delaval 78 vac pump
    rebuilt Vermont arch
    Smoky lake maple custom pans
    4 x 11 reverse flow
    Smoky Lake auto-draw
    Smoky lake 2x4 finisher
    wes fab short bank filter press
    600 gallon Zero tank and 4 cage tanks
    650 gallon surge tank
    Deer Run Maple 500 GPH RO
    https://www.facebook.com/WhaleysMapleSyrup?ref=hl

I admire your willingness to make your own evap. I have no desire to even attempt it. Once I ahve the funds, I will buy a small professional evap, might take longer though!

I have built a block arch and set up a flu to draw air out the back. I am going to weld a 1/2" coupling with a drain valve at one end. I also have to weld over the current drain hole in the center of the pan. How would you modify the interior of the pan?? I am currently thinking about having a divider that establishes 2 pans, one large pan with no partitions to boil sap and the second as a finishing pan with 3 baffles to set up a gradient that leads to my drain valve. Thanks