PDA

View Full Version : gravity on 5/16 tubing

lafite
10-12-2010, 07:03 AM
I am considering using 5/16 tubing as my mainline for a run of taps that would include 3 sections of: 25 taps, 15 taps and 12 taps. my first question would be since I am a backyard producer, would the 5/16 lateral line be sufficient? I have plenty of room for a nice slope. My second question would be; is 25 taps on a gravity line be too much? and lastly, would switching over to the Check Valve for this setup be beneficial for this smaller scale production?

With the above set up and other taps I should max out at around 90 taps this coming year.

I'm looking forward to this coming season. Last year, my first, was a tough year to be initiated into this wonderful hobby but the syrup was amazing!

thank you in advance!

steve
Cheshire, CT

Maplewalnut
10-12-2010, 08:00 AM
Steve-

The steeper the slope the better. And some will say the more taps the better. The advantage of both is that you will create natural vacuum in your line with steep slope and sap flowing. There are a couple traders on here that have 30, 40, 50 taps on a 5/16th gravity line. Of course these recommendations all get thrown out when you go to vacuum next year! (at least that my prediction!)

From what I have read on here, check valves will help but not to the extent it would when vacuum is applied to a system

Enjoy

lafite
10-12-2010, 08:58 AM
thank you for the reply. I think you read my mind about a vacuum system. Last year was like pulling teeth and I would prefer not to have a repeat performance. Being in Southern CT, my window of collection is smaller than most and I would surly like to maximize my production.

TapME
10-12-2010, 05:27 PM