PDA

View Full Version : New Evaporator

MilesTeg
09-22-2010, 03:47 PM
First of all I'd like to say hi, this is my first time posting but I've been veiwing the trader everyday for 6 months now.

A little background info before the question. We decided to upgrade this year from a leader half pint to a leader 30X8 max flue pan and a vacume system. I have to say i wasn't ready for all of the work this upgrade has sent my way.

Ok my first question is about fire bricking the new arch. Like i said its a max flue pan with a traditional wood fired arch. First i wanst ready for the arch not to have a base on it. Let me explain underneth the firebox area there is no sheet metal there so how do i brick it? We will probably use a blower blowing into the ash pan access door if that makes a diffrence and thinking ahead we will probably be futting on an air tight front arch with a real blower next season.

The next question is should we just use mortor and fire brick or is it worth doing the blanket or board underneath the bricks? And ive also heard of people not mortoring the bricks after the ramp they just loose fit them and work sand in the cracks is this coomon practice?

I cant think of any more questions at the moment but im sure you'll be hearing form me again. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thompson's Tree Farm
09-22-2010, 05:13 PM
Most arches do not have sheet metal on the bottom of the ash pit. Mine merely rests on the concrete floor which serves as the bottom. Unless your evaporator is resting on a wooden floor, you will not need firebrick on the bottom, just the sides.
I used to just have firebrick lining. I added archboard when I built my new sugar house and moved the evaporator. It makes a huge difference. I used to scorch my legs standing beside the evaporator. Now I can put my hand on the side during a full boil. Only mistake I made was using whole brick all the way to the top. I should have used splits on the top row.
Welcome aboard!

bobbyjake