PDA

View Full Version : Variable frequency drive vacuum pumps

Brokermike
09-07-2010, 01:42 PM
Does anyone have any input here? I'm new to vacuum but I have a friend up in Northern Vermont that runs a small 2hp variable frequency vacuum pump on 4,000 taps, they do very well with it and it uses much less energy than a traditional vacuum pump.

Since I'll only have about 200 taps on vacuum I'm thinking something small, quiet and efficient would be ideal. Also since I have to run 400 feet of 12-2 to reach the sugarhouse I don't want something that draws a tone of juice.

Any thoughts?

DrTimPerkins
09-07-2010, 03:05 PM
Does anyone have any input here? I'm new to vacuum but I have a friend up in Northern Vermont that runs a small 2hp variable frequency vacuum pump on 4,000 taps, they do very well with it and it uses much less energy than a traditional vacuum pump.

We ran a 7.5hp oil-cooled, two-stage pump on a VFD last year in a 1,500 tap operation (yes, this is a very large pump for that # of taps, but because this is a research study, we have about 10x the amount of mainline that a standard installation would have, so lots of air to evacuate). I liked it a lot (for the most part).

Solely in terms of the VFD:

1. It'll take a fairly long time for the energy savings at 6 wks per year of use to pay back the upfront cost of the VFD and installation, but they are considerably more energy efficient as long as your system stays tight.

2. Since the VFD will throttle back the pump when you hit your vacuum setpoint, there is less heat generated, and thus less wear and tear on the pump than having it running in high speed all the time. Also less oil consumption or water cooling needed.