PDA

View Full Version : Syrup Yeild From Sap

lharris1
03-30-2005, 10:55 AM
May be someone can straighten me out on this. I'm kind of new at this thing but I have heard about the rule of 86 where you divide your sap hydrometer reading into 86 and subtract 1 to get the gallons to boil off to get one gallon of syrup. Since the sap hydrometer is a brix number and the target for making syrup is a brix number of 67, why would you not divide 67 by the sap brix number.

Our average sap this year probably was not more than 1.7. Dividing that into 86 give about 50. We fairly accurately totaled the sap volume we gathered and when I divide that by the syrup gallons made I get 39, which is also the number you get dividing 67 by 1.7. What am I missing? :?:

DougM
03-30-2005, 02:16 PM
This is the explanation from the North American Maple Syrup Producers Manual. I think the last paragraph probably explains part of your difference.

S = 86/X
where "S" is the number of gallons of sap required to produce one gallon of syrup, "X" is the Brix value of the sap, and 86 is a mathematical constant representing the percentage of solids on a weight-volume basis that is in a gallon of syrup (see following discussion).

It follows, then, that the number of gallons of water that must be evaporated from sap to obtain one gallon of syrup can be calculated by subtracting "1" from the above equation:

W = (86/X) - 1
As an example, using sap with a density of 2° Brix requires 43 gallons of sap to produce 1 gallon of syrup:

S = 86/X = 86/2 = 43 gallons sap
and 42 gallons of water must be evaporated to produce one gallon of syrup:

W = (86/X) - 1 = (86/2) - 1 = 43 - 1 = 42 gallons water