PDA

View Full Version : New Guy needs advice

b-bros
03-26-2010, 12:32 PM
Date of this post March 26,2010

Hey all I am really new at this syrup making stuff. I live in northern central Mass. My brother had a bunch of nice trees to tap, some nice old sugar maples and at least 3 feet across the stump. (If they were to be cut which they are not) I got all of the tapping and tubing down. I built a nice evaporator with a gravity feed drip system and it works well. I can make a gallon of syrup in about 4-5 hours. I have got the boiling and bottling fairly down and am learning fast. My next step is making some candy, but that will be another post.

So my problem is how do I know when to stop collecting sap.
I collected yesterday and the sap had been in the buckets for 3 days. Two of the buckets were a little cloudy. On those trees the little red "buds" were just starting to come out on the trees. The other trees were fairly clear but no buds yet. I boiled the sap down and it came out dark and with a slight "nutty" flavor. Not a real bad taste but it is definitely noticeable. My other batches done exactly the same way on the evaporator came out top notch and real tasty addictive.