PDA

View Full Version : doing my first boil ever! I have questions.

rustyinmaine
03-15-2010, 10:04 AM
thanks for checking this out. I am very new to this and have built my own evap. out of stuff in the yard. Going to do my very first boil tomarrow if weather holds. What are the do's and don't of it. I have a candy thermometer and at what should point I start to get the syrup out of the pan? What is scorching? Is there such a thing as to hard of a boil.? Oh man there so many more questions but I can't think of them right now. Thank for all the help on this site. everyone has been great!

fenwick865
03-15-2010, 10:19 AM
this is my first year as well. iwas using a candy thermometer when i realized it was off by about 5*. I suggest getting a syrup hydrometer. spend some time searching this sight, loads of info. when finishing syrup whatch out for boilovers.

SilverLeaf
03-15-2010, 11:10 AM
If it's your first time, I would recommend not trying to finish the syrup on your pan. Just use it to get close to syrup, then draw off and finish on a pot on your stove where you have more control and can react quicker to any changes in temp, etc. It'll take a little longer, but that's a darn good thing when you're first learnin' the ropes. :D

One other thing - at some point the stuff will try to bubble/foam out of your pan or pot. When that happens you're not at syrup yet, but you're getting rather close! Scared the heck out of me the first time that happened. Don't let it continue to foam over or you'll have a sticky mess on your hands. Stay calm, and just turn down the heat a little (if on your stove) or put a drop of vegetable oil (or any other kind of cooking oil) in (if it happens in your pan) and the foam will kick down a bit.

Good luck!

rustyinmaine
03-15-2010, 11:20 AM