PDA

View Full Version : pressure filter

sap runner
03-14-2010, 10:01 PM
I am new to the electric pressure filter,used it for the first time today,works great but my filters plugged with only 4 gallons of syrup.Is this from using too much filter aid or just normal?

Haynes Forest Products
03-15-2010, 12:25 AM
Never seen a elec pressure filter:emb: I dont think filter aid can cause plugging regardless of the type of filter. Do you have a model of the unit so we can see it?

sap runner
03-15-2010, 09:21 AM
sorry,long weekend and could not remember the name<it is a Wes Fab filter press.Works great except the filter plugging after a short time.Each filter paper had about a 1/4" solid sand on it.Not sure if thats normal,also seems like more than normal sand in the bottom of my syrup pan.

mapleack
03-15-2010, 09:51 AM
What size wesfab press is it? How many plates?

Jim Brown
03-15-2010, 10:10 AM
We own a WesFab short 7 and we can filter about 10-15 gallon before she plugs.

May be using too much DE don't know!

Jim

sap runner
03-15-2010, 11:40 AM
7" short bank electric can't remember maybe 3 plates?

Clan Delaney
03-15-2010, 12:13 PM
I don't use a filter press, but here's a thought anyway - did you pre-filter the syrup? If not, you're gonna get lots of large debris and sand in the filters, instead of just catching the tiny particulates. Seems like all that gunk could indeed plug a filter.

Jim Brown
03-15-2010, 12:22 PM
Forgot to mention we felt cone filter right off the rig and then finish and then run through the filter press. Like Clan says the felt catches the big hunks! and the filter press catches the rest.

Jim

Haynes Forest Products
03-15-2010, 02:49 PM
Sounds like your not using enough filter aid. I run my 7" 3 plate till the spaces are filled full. Make sure that you put more in its cheap and make sure that its well stired when you start the filtering and stire for a few min as its pumping/filtering.

maple flats
03-15-2010, 07:12 PM