PDA

View Full Version : new guy from mass

sapbrush
03-14-2010, 10:44 AM
hi all i have been sugaring for over 15 years, small scale, did it when i was a kid on my familys farm in northern canada, and when i bought this property in belchertown, i started again, not a high tech sugar guy,im 58 years old and my kids are all grown and moved away, like i see mostly on here, sap vacums, revers osmos, miles of lines and evaporators capabile of doing what i do in a year in an hour, i usually put 30 to 50 taps all sugar mapels around the house and in the woods, all buckets, and i have a half pint evaporator standard no add ons, i like to keep thing simpel as my grandfather did, i think we have gone to high tech, maybe its just that we have made something so simpel more compictaed, nature gives us a gift each year, and some of us have the foutune to be able to collect it and boil it down to a sweet syrup,we do it cause its in our blood, its a love of labor, good site, hopefully we all have had a good year. just keep it simpel.

mapleman3
03-14-2010, 02:37 PM
Welcome Jim... to the Trader AND to sugaring in Belchertown! we have a nice town, glad to have you on and I'm looking forward to meeting you soon. Maybe we need to have a meet and greet soon with all the maple traders in our area at my place this spring/summer!

Ausable
03-14-2010, 02:53 PM