PDA

View Full Version : First block evaporator, take a look and tell me what you think I need to m

rustyinmaine
03-12-2010, 09:41 AM
this is my very first attempt at this. I got the design out of mother earth mag. and several other sourses. i have not fully tested it yet and plan to do so today. i have $10 invested and going to try and boil some tuesday or monday. YThe pan measure 20"x48". is it to big and how much sap should I start with. i have collected about 20 gallon in the last 4 days. I tried to upload photo but they are to big and my better half is better at the computer thing than I any advice is greatly appreicated.

RileySugarbush
03-12-2010, 10:49 AM
That looks fine for a start and should work well. If you can add a fire grate and set your door up so combustion air flows in the bottom and up through the grate it will boil a little better.. Block the back of the grate so you don't let the air take a short cut out the back of it.

morningstarfarm
03-12-2010, 11:10 AM
Looks pretty good..bioiled for more years than I want to think about on a rig pretty much like that..I'd lay a half block under the door for venting and raise the flu height about 2-3' and you have her nailed....a grate wouldnt hurt either. Enjoy

emo
03-12-2010, 12:40 PM