PDA

View Full Version : Sap only flows first day

bellefonte_tapper
03-09-2010, 03:09 PM
I live in Bellefonte PA and this is my first time with tapping trees. We tapped about 10 trees on Saturday, which gave us a good amount of sap. The following three days have given us next to nothing. Is this to be expected or did we do something wrong? Somehow did the holes seal up? Any advice would be welcomed.

SilverLeaf
03-09-2010, 03:25 PM
Tap holes will dry out, but it takes a lot longer than a few days for that to happen! ;)

What's the weather been like since Sunday? If it's either been 1) above freezing the whole time - day and night, or 2) below freezing the whole time - day and night, that's the likely cause. The sap flows good when it freezes at night and thaws during the day.

Good luck!

bellefonte_tapper
03-09-2010, 03:33 PM
The temperature has been pretty warm (today in the low 50's) and the lows have been slightly less than freezing. Not sure why we would get a quarter of what we got the first day?

SilverLeaf
03-09-2010, 03:47 PM
An ideal freeze/thaw cycle is a night that gets down to 20 followed by a sunny day that gets up to 40. My guess is that it just didn't get cold enough for your trees to "recharge" overnight.

Pray for a little bit colder weather!:lol:

bellefonte_tapper
03-09-2010, 03:58 PM
Thanks for the quick response. I was worried I was doing something wrong. I will watch it and pray for colder weather. Wow I don't normally pray for cold weather after a long winter :)

stoweski
03-09-2010, 06:13 PM
Even though this is my first year tapping I am disappointed in the weather. I have had two nights in the past two weeks where temps have been below 32! Both were in the mid 20's and gave me 40 gallons on Saturday and 35 gallons on Sunday. Other than that I have mostly dry buckets. Collected 17 gallons yesterday and then 5 today.

Here's hoping for a cool down - otherwise the buds will start popping!

The Dude
03-10-2010, 07:20 AM