PDA

View Full Version : Sap to Syrup

Jay
03-10-2005, 07:17 PM
How much sap are you folks boiling down for a gallon of syrup? I boiled down 100 gallons the other day and ended up with a little over a gallon and a half. A little on the low side I figure, I would like to check my sugar some time just to see what it is. All the taps (20) are in sugars. I also had some questions on running the evaporator I have since its my first year using one (half-Pint), I am not the worlds best writer so I would like to speak with someone, if any body has the time. My # is 845-325-5668 or if someone would shoot me a message I would be happy to call them. Thanks in advance, Jay

Al
03-10-2005, 07:27 PM
The first time you boil in your pans they have to be sweetened so you boil awhile before you first draw off. We have alot of highly qualified sugarer's here and I'm sure there's at least 2 people here who have used or use a half pint.
You may want to purchase a sap hydrometer or a refractometer to get your sugar content in your sap. A sap hydrometer is cheaper and is what I use to get a rough idea on sugar content.
Welcome to the board.

brookledge
03-10-2005, 07:39 PM
As Al said the cheapest way to test your sap is with a hydrometer. Short style about $10.00 but I would recomend the tall one about $16.00. The tall ones are easier to read. You may want to get a test cup also. As far as sugar content there are alot of variables involved.My first boil this year I had about 2.5% If you use the 86 rule (86divided by the sugar content) that will tell you how many gallons of sap to make one gallon. In my case about 35 to 1.
Keith

Bill K.
03-10-2005, 08:09 PM
Jay,