PDA

View Full Version : Syrup wouldn't go through filter felt?

CitySlicker
03-08-2010, 09:28 AM
Hey folks - first post here. My wife and I boiled down 35 gallons of sap yesterday, ending up with one sweet gallon of syrup - I didn't grade it, but it's light to medium.

I am a tiny hobby operator doing this for the first time - the previous homeowners left us a bunch of supplies when we bought our house.

Here's the question: I filtered the sap through cheese cloth when I collected it from the buckets. I filtered the partially boiled sap again through filter paper when I transferred it from the evaporator to a big lobster pot to finish on my stove (I wanted to try to finish it on the wood fired evaporator, but my wife's exact quote was "don't be a hero!" we transferred about 3 gallons of semi-syrup to the pot to finish inside (Eventually ending up with 1 gallon of syrup)

anyway, things worked well, and i got to the proper level on the hydrometer, but we tried to filter the syrup through (new) filter paper again (placed over a funnel) as we bottled the syrup, and it just wouldn't go through. We switched to a final multi-layer cheese cloth filter instead. Everything looks good - i'm just wondering if this is normal the the finished syrup doesn't go through the filter.???

ps - final ratio was 35 gallons of sap to 1.1 gallons of syrup - which i guess is not bad, right?

Gravel
03-08-2010, 09:40 AM
Did you use a pre-filter? If the syrup cools down too much it wont go threw either. Sometimes if you just let it sit there overnight it will finish going threw the filter!

Fred Henderson
03-08-2010, 10:58 AM
The felt and paper pre filters work best if they are soaked in water and they rung out before use.

MapleME
03-08-2010, 11:45 AM