PDA

View Full Version : Foaming Syrup Pan

Sweetrun
03-06-2010, 06:16 PM
I am boiling on a Leader 2X6. The syrup started to foam in the front pan just before draw-off, to the point it boiled over the side of the pan on the draw- off side. I am using a defoamer and I have had no problems with foam in the sap pan. The only way to settle things down was to open the evap door to reduce heat. As soon as the door is closed it would begin to foam up again. I have been using this evap for several years and have not had this happen before. Sap pan level is about 1-1/2 to 2" in sap depth. Made some nice fancy today, but struggled through the foaming issue Any thoughts?

maple flats
03-06-2010, 06:36 PM
Sometimes you need to add 1 drop of defoamer at every fueling. I attended a seminar by a Leader employee who said you should add 1 drop IN THE FLUE PAN every time you add wood. If you do this he claimed you will never need to add any in the syrup pan. I was going to try it this year.

Haynes Forest Products
03-06-2010, 06:49 PM
One drop Dang I see guys squirt a stream into the flue pan every time. I use maybe 10 drops for my 3x10.

Haynes Forest Products
03-06-2010, 06:51 PM
One drop Dang I see guys squirt a stream into the flue pan every time. I use maybe 10 drops for my 3x10. Sweet run maybe drawoff more often and longer draws. I always keep an eye out for the really big shinny bubbles because trouble is right behind them.

Sweetrun
03-07-2010, 04:47 AM
Thanks for the replys. Maybe I was getting a little stingy on the use of the defoamer. I will boost it up a bit.

tapper
03-07-2010, 06:23 AM
The amount depends on the size of the evaporator. A drop or 2 is sometimes needed at the drawoff. This will not only reduce the foam but help draw the syrup to the draw off. If you are using proper amount in the floatbox it is rare that you need any at the drawoff.

maple flats
03-07-2010, 07:41 PM