PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Stack Temperature question

Brokermike
03-05-2010, 07:48 AM
This is my first year boiling by myself. Years past I have been relegated to shuffling wood around, helping friends tap, and drinking beer. Now that I'm all set up myself I have some questions.

I have a 2x4 oil tank setup (it's all firebricked etc), with the draft door open the rig sounds like a jet plane flying overhead, it heats up quickly, boils sap like crazy and otherwise cranks. It does however shoot flames about 12" out of the top of the stack. I only can see this glowing afterburn at night. Having only been a helper in the past is it safe to run the rig at this level and what should my stack temperature be?

If I close the draft door it still boils well (albeit much slower) and my stack temperature stays at around 300-400 degrees.

I'd gladly take opinions on what level I should pursue

Thanks

Brent
03-05-2010, 08:19 AM
Welcome Brokermike

I've and the same flame thrower effect on our first small evap and it when in that mode it will eat wood at an amazing rate.

Your stack temp reading needs to clarification. Are you using a thermometer with a stem that goes through a hole in the stack and into the stack gasses or a magnetic that sticks to the side of the stack.

In the roughest terms, something around 1100 degrees actual gas temp seems top be a good balance between boiling rate and wood consumption.

If you're using a magnetic one the reading can vary quite a bit depending on when you attach it.... on a flat or on a round part of the stack, height etc

Justin Turco
03-05-2010, 08:34 AM