PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum 10x10 sugarshack - need help with steam control

Chris W
03-04-2010, 08:51 PM
MAJOR issues with steam during my test boil. 8" duct fan doesn't come close to handling the steam. The ceiling is only 7ft and the whole shed filled with steam. I was considering upgrading to a powered roof vent (1600 CFM) but then read that may make things worse (hot steam meets cold air). Please help! I'm using 4 steam pans on an immovalbe block arch. I'd need to fabricate a hood somehow for cheap rather than purchase one if that is the recommendation(this is my first year). IF I did build a hood, what's the highest I can have it above the pans to still be effective (I need to transfer sap from pan to pan so I need space to do it). With a hood do I also need a fan? Should I repurpose my 8" duct fan?

I even considered cutting a HUGE flap in the roof to "peel" back to let the steam out (seems drastic but I'm kind of desperate). Of course I'll have leakage issues at that point. How could one do a makeshift copula in an aluminum shed? UGGH. This is causing me major stress. I'm so excited for this season but I need to get over this hurdle.

Any advice is GREATLY appreciated! Thank you!!!

johnallin
03-04-2010, 09:12 PM
Chris, you will need some sort of openning in your roof to alow steam to escape out. If you don't have a cupola now, your idea of cutting a "flap" in the roof may be your only good option.

If it gets too steamy in there you may be putting yourself at risk due to limited vision. Pretty sure someone will chime in with a good idea for you though, just hang in there....

Chris W
03-04-2010, 09:18 PM
Thanks! Yeah, during my test boil where I only fired the evaporator to about 1/4 of what I expect, if filled the shed with steam in the top 2 1/2 feet where it then escaped out the doors. Visibility was next to zero. Grabbed a house stand fan to temporarily regain visibility.