PDA

View Full Version : Drilled too Deep? Pull and Re-tap Shallow?

Twin_Maple
03-07-2005, 03:14 PM
Help? I am new to this and I am now figuring out that I may have drilled too deep into the trees this year. I am using 5/16 health spouts, I believe they are the Leader type from Bascom’s. I figured that I needed to drill ˝ to 1” deeper than the spout length to allow for some place for the sap to gather since the taps have a solid shaft into the tree. So I marked 1” past the spout length on my bit and went a drillin’. Now I had no idea at the time that the spouts do not go all the way in and taper to create a seal. Anyway much like the rest of the folks here in southern NH and northern MA, the sap really has not run yet except for a short run in the middle of Feb. When was tapping the sap was slightly flowin’ on the sunnysides. I have some slightly brown sap in the bottom of some of my buckets, really just a trace. The trees that show this brown flow are my minimum 10” trees. Does this mean that I have tapped the darker heart wood? If this is true, would I be better off re-tapping a few that have this brown flow? It tasted very sweet in the bottom of the bucket. This is just my second season and I am just not sure. Thanks for the help.

Mike
03-07-2005, 04:49 PM
Hi, Are your buckets galvanized? The brown could be rust...2" is all you need to go.....with a slight upward angle....How deep did you go???

Twin_Maple
03-07-2005, 05:06 PM
I just measured the mark on my bit and it is at 2" so I guess I am OK. I had low flow today, like 2.5 gal Total for my 10 taps. The buckets are new 5 gal plastic. Lots of wet bark around the spouts though. Maybe I am over reacting, but I just expected more and clearer sap today. Thanks.

forester1
03-07-2005, 06:44 PM