PDA

View Full Version : Am I missing something?

MainelyMaple
03-03-2010, 01:06 PM
This is my first year with a tubing set up. i have a 3/4" maineline with 60 taps on it. i also have 6 short runs with 5-10 taps each (40) total) that drain into trash cans. in the past 5 days the mainline with 60 taps only produced about 30 gallons of sap, while the small laterals with only 40 taps combined produced 35 gallons of sap. just wondering if i did something wrong with my tubing to get less sap from more taps. my laterals and mainline are tight, sloped, and fairly straight, and my laterals have 4-10 taps on them. thanks in advance

KenWP
03-03-2010, 01:19 PM
Perfectly normal. Your on gravity and when you have more taps on a line it can produce less. It's basically back pressure. Those same taps on vacuum would produce a lot better. I had taps last year on tubeing that never produced until the really warm weather showed up. They always had sap in the line but just wouldn't push it out. Warmer weather should make them produce a bit better.

MainelyMaple
03-03-2010, 01:26 PM
what if i vented each lateral?

KenWP
03-03-2010, 01:37 PM
That is supposed to make the matter worse as you loose the natural vaccum. I tried that too. Plus it allows more germs into the lines.

PerryW
03-03-2010, 02:13 PM
so you have 60 taps yielding 30 gallons or 0.5 gallons per tap.

and you have 40 taps producing 35 gallons or 0.875 gal per tap.

It is perfectly normal for different trees to run at different rates. I doubt it has anything to do with your tubing setup. Some trees are colder and will run better late in the season, and some will run better early season, and some will never run good.

waysidemaple
03-03-2010, 03:11 PM