PDA

View Full Version : Is my season over?

Lazarus
03-02-2010, 12:09 PM
We've enjoyed a good sap run the last day or so, but I am worried that we're out of time after this weekend. Looking at the weather for Cincinnati, they are claiming several days above 50, and even near 60 by Monday.

I'm tapping mostly silvers. This is my first year - is there a way to tell that I should pull the buckets? Does the sap itself smell or taste bad, or just the syrup? I would hate to load it into the evap and ruin an entire batch of half-made syrup from the week before. But I don't want to stop too early either.

These trees are huge with no lower limbs, and I would almost need a telescope to see the ends of the branches. Is this upcoming weather enough to make them buddy, and how do I tell?

Buckeye mapler
03-02-2010, 12:20 PM
Cloudy sap in the bucket is a good indicator. I would say the stuff you collect the next couple of weeks will be good though. I don't see the silvers blooming just yet. Look for that too happen when we have above freezing temps at night for several days in a row. Alot of people will continue to boil until it taste bitter, then sell it commercially mixed with good stuff. With that little of taps you are right not to risk spoiling what you have in the pan. One option is to boil the last of what is good down as far as you can and draw it all off and finish it. Then start another batch with questionable sap. Look at the silvers on your street and see what they are doing. When the buds open I would pull them and finish what is left on the pan.

KenWP
03-02-2010, 12:42 PM
When silvers start to bud you will see it from afar. The buds swell up nice and red and then they start to put out little feelers look like the atennaes on a bugs head . Just before that is when you need to pull the taps.

RileySugarbush
03-02-2010, 01:04 PM