PDA

View Full Version : Help with Bender glass dairy releaser

dhbiker1
02-28-2010, 06:50 AM
I have one of the Bender glass bowl releasers that I have been using for 3 years now. It has never been the most reliable but this year I just can't get it to work good. It will dump, but then struggles to close the check valve afterwards. I have 2 of the 3/4" brass colored flapper check valves from Home Depot - one in the mainline just before the releaser and the other off the bottom of the releaser dumping into the tank. The one dumping into the tank is not vertical because I have an elbow before it. I have tried both 45 deg and 90 deg elbows. The 90 deg that makes the valve horizontal seems to work worse than the 45, which does not make sense to me. Also I can play around with how much weight is on the shaft above the float with no luck there either. This is all at about 12 - 15 in Hg. I am getting frustrated fighting this thing year after year and looking to see if anyone has similar issues or fixes?

How much weight do you put on the float?
What type of check valves and where?
Anything else i'm missing?

Moonlitemaple
02-28-2010, 10:45 AM
I use the bender jars in my dairy operation, you might want to try to contact a dairy farm supply or a dairy equipment dealer. The check valve that I have in my dump line has a round ball in it that I get from my local dairy equipment dealer "Surge". I know I dont have any extra ones around, do you have the small jar or the big fat jar. Also make sure that the steel rod on the inside is seating good into the top of the jar,"should be a threaded elbow made of plastic", that shuts the vac. off to allow it to dump. And also off the bottom off the jar I have 1" clear milk hose with a 90 elbow off the jar and about a foot away from that elbow is my ball check valve, there is kind of a sag in my line there maybe that helps???? Not sure what else maybe sap is sticking something. Hope some info was a help a ?'s let me know.

Moonlitemaple