PDA

View Full Version : Yellow sap?

Loun
02-25-2010, 02:18 PM
A couple of my trees today produced almost full buckets of yellowish sap. This is my first year doing this so im trying to just put my mind as ease that its not my neighbors screwing with me by peeing in my buckets :)

It was only a couple trees, its been raining for a while so maybe its rain down the tree and getting in under my lids? Thanks in advance if anyone has some thoughts.

-Lou

highroadsyrup
02-25-2010, 02:22 PM
Your thinking is correct, its proably the rain. Dont eat yellow snow and dont drink yellow sap:lol:

Loun
02-25-2010, 02:27 PM
will boiling that sap ruin the syrup? I have most of it segregated but its 10 gallons out of the 40 that I have.

morningstarfarm
02-25-2010, 03:26 PM
10 gals? I'd dump it and stick with the stuff you know is good..wood is worth more than it is imho.

Maplesedge
02-25-2010, 03:47 PM
Sometimes a tree puts out "buddy" yellow, or geenish sap. Different trees put out different sap under different conditions, like when it's warm and rainy.

Rinse out the buckets and hope for better tommorrow.

If we get a good cold snap, the same trees may run clear again.

I've had trees like that, cloudy sap one day, clear the next.

But don't boil it, it's bound to taste off. Especially if it is your neighbor's urine.

JuniperHillSugar
02-25-2010, 04:07 PM
I checked the sugar in some recent yellow sap and it was zero. It was dumped, probably rain that ran down the tree. Have faith, the'll be more.

KenWP
02-25-2010, 06:16 PM
Did you taste the sap. If it's just a little bit discoloured it will boil just perfect. The water running down the tree just discolurs it a bit.

sugar man
02-25-2010, 06:38 PM
i checked all my buckets to day.they are all full with yellowish water from the rain.rain runs down the bark hits the spile runs in the bucket.:)

Treetapper
02-26-2010, 12:29 AM