View Full Version : Should I tap now or wait?

Chris W
02-24-2010, 09:38 PM
I'm between Lansing and Jackson. Weather forecast doesn't show temps above 40 until Friday March 5. Should I wait until then to tap or should I already be tapping? This is my first year.

Thanks in advance.

Ausable
02-25-2010, 03:50 AM
Hi Chris - I usually put about 55 taps in and have 25 in at present and only about 4 gallons of sap so far - the weather part is always a guessing game and as a "Back Yarder" I'm willing to gamble on it. I'll probably tap the rest of them today if I get a chance - although it is really going to be too cold for sap. The Big Guys or Commercial Producers in my area usually wait until about 01 March - but - they are in business and trying to make money and take it all very serious. One year I tapped in mid-February and it became very cold and some my holes dried up and had to be retapped once it warmed up. But - In late February "Cabin Fever" can become a problem and it gets me outside and busy at something I enjoy. Also - my family appreciates the free maple syrup and that makes it worthwhile for me.
Good Luck this year and have Fun ----- Mike

ehausinfrats
02-25-2010, 06:23 AM
I live in jackson. I put out 137 taps on Saturday and Sunday I got 70 gallons.
Last night I got 60 gal. Looks like this weekend and Monday will be good days also.
eric

LawnMowerMan
02-25-2010, 09:36 AM
I put out 5 taps last Thursday only 3 ran much at all but out of those 3 i got 20 gallons in 5 days. Looks like early next week, temps upper 30's and lows low 20's. At least that is in my area on the west side of the state.

michigansugarman
02-25-2010, 03:49 PM
We put out 50 - 60 taps in the Grand Rapids area. We haven't tapped yet, but are planning on tapping this weekend. Weather next week looks to be 20's at night and mid to upper 30's with some sun during the day. Hoping for some good sap runs.

shane hickey
02-25-2010, 05:26 PM