PDA

View Full Version : pre heat idea

dave gagne
02-24-2010, 06:14 PM
hi, i am new at this but i came up with an idea to pre heat. let me know what you think. i have my top bucket of about 15 gallons , after 3 hrs at approx. 158* , is this worth doing or not i am using a half pint evaporator. ****sorry attempting to add picture so quetion will be understood.

KenWP
02-24-2010, 06:22 PM
Anything that heats sap warmer then it was is a good idea. Some just work better then others. If sap is 40 degrees and you get it to 50 degrees thats 10 degrees your not taking out of the evaporator.

Woodland Acres
02-24-2010, 07:44 PM
I was wondering if anyone ever tried to use a tankless water heater to preheat with.I dont know if they would work on gravity flow coming out of your feed tank to your evaporator.

Haynes Forest Products
02-24-2010, 09:26 PM
You could but its all about saving money to recoup the wasted heat from the arch. Now you could set up another evap at your buddies house and then when the sap is almost syrup bring it over to your house and that would be a preheater:lol: But seriously just chuck the wood in and try and heat the sap with the throw away heat that is the Idea.

Peepers
02-24-2010, 09:53 PM
Saving wood is one factor for me but the other reason I am looking at building a preheater this year is saving time. Every time I put almost freezing sap into my pan it really knocks down the evaporation until it gets back to boiling. I suppose a simple slow feed of cold sap would help instead of me dumping a bunch of cold sap in but a slow feed of hot sap would be even better in order to keep the boil going and keep the evaporation rate as high as I can get it.

I think for the money of a tankless hot water heater you could probably invest in an RO system that would shortcut your boiling even more. unless you can get a tankless H20 heater for free in which case give it a shot and let us know how it goes! :)

KenWP
02-24-2010, 09:56 PM