PDA

View Full Version : A couple of elementary questions

GANGGREEN
02-24-2010, 02:56 PM
OK, new guy here. I've been tapping with buckets for a few years but decided to run some lines this year and don't have a clue what I'm doing. I'm running 25 to 30 taps off a 300 foot long 1/2 inch main line (my sugar bush isn't that great in this area and it required a fairly long main line. The drop is pretty good so I don't think I'll have much problem with a gravity system but I'm not sure about the really basic stuff like anchoring the main line.

Case in point, I put a high tensile wire up to anchor it to. I didn't have those tightening ratchet thingies so I just tied the wire to this tree and that and it seems fairly taut. I attached the main line to the wire with zip ties but the whole main line just slides down the wire when I try to take the sags out of it. I'm guessing that I need to anchor the top of the main line to something before pulling it really taut but I'm not sure how to do so. Do I simply tie the uphill end of the main line around the top tree? Drill a hole through the main line and wire it to the tree?

Secondly, I'm not sure what to do with the open portion of the main line. I presume that I wouldn't want it to be open to allow bugs, water, bacteria, etc. into my sap but what do I do? Are there commercial caps sold for that purpose? Obviously, if I tied the upper end around a tree or something it would be a closed system but I'd think tying that 1/2 tubing around a tree would probably not be the best thing to do.

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

GANGGREEN
02-24-2010, 03:03 PM