PDA

View Full Version : Soldering Staintless (Grrrrrrrrrrrrr)

82cabby
02-24-2010, 02:20 PM
Hi guys -

Can anyone give me some advice on soldering the seams on a stainless pan that I am making?

I have done plenty of steel work, but this is my first attempt with stainless. I have the pan made up with tabs at the corners. I welded the tabs on the outside and my intent was to solder the seams on the inside to completely seal the pan.

The problem is no matter what I do I can't get the solder to stick. I am using lead free solder from the plumbing section at Lowes. I have tried no flux, 'tinning' flux (green stuff which says it's for dissimilar metals) and the flux I use for copper pipe. I am working with a propane torch and getting the stainless as hot as the torch can.

I read all the posts and the only thing I can think of is trying to track down silver solder, which Lowes didn't carry.

Any advice???

Batchelderd
02-24-2010, 03:39 PM
Don't think it will work.

TF Maple
02-24-2010, 03:59 PM
There is a silver soldering stainless thread if you do a search for that. Main points were having the area scrubbed clean and maybe even emery cloth, then the right flux.

seclark
02-24-2010, 04:00 PM
I think your better off using a soldering iron instead of a torch plus the right flux.I have soldered stainless many times with an Iron and had good results.The flux I've used was a liquid that I picked up at my local hardware.At least thats what works for me.What guage stainless is it? Stan

KenWP
02-24-2010, 04:29 PM
You have to rough it up some what for both edges. Then use the right solder for SS lead free and then with a low torch get it hot but not to hot and it should stick. if you don't roughen it up you will not get it to stick.