PDA

View Full Version : New guy question

flyboy41
02-23-2010, 07:30 PM
Here it is, my first question here.

I am new to this syrup gig, but had a blast boiling in baking pans with a propane burner last year. Made about 3-1/2 gallons.

This year I was going to build an oil barrel evap with a single pan but came across a great deal on a 2.5 by 6 evaporator and pans. The pans are tin but the price was right.

My question is in regards to the drop flue pan. When I am done boiling for the night, I am planning to drain my syrup pan and store the sap until I boil again. I also want to drain my drop flue, but there is no drain in those flues. I have been told to drain all the pans every night, so would it be OK to leave the sap in the flues or should I haul the pan out and dump the sap into buckets?

Next question: Is it OK to run say 2 inches in the pans when I am boiling? I am just a bit nervous about this much sap boiling at once and have read plenty of stories on here about things going south in a hurry on you experienced guys. Add my inexperience to the equation and if it seems OK I would like to keep 2 inches or so in the pans.

What is "sweetening the pan"?

Lots of questions and only about 4 or 5 days to come up with answers.

Thanks in advance for the advice

BryanEx
02-23-2010, 07:33 PM
THIS THREAD (http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?t=8315) just posted a few days ago should answer pretty much all your questions. If still not sure after read it just let us know.

Gary R
02-23-2010, 07:43 PM