View Full Version : Slow flow from lateral lines

wildacres
02-23-2010, 10:41 AM
Hi all -

I am in my 4th year of a small gravity tubing system. While I've had a much
more seasoned veteran give my tubing a 'Two Thumbs Up' - good downhill,
no sags, 10 taps per lateral, and a modest distance to traverse - I struggle
to understand why the sap from the lateral lines is backed up 10-15
feet behind each mainline saddle. The lines are full! In many places, the sap is backed up right to the tap itself. Rather than flowing into the mainline, it seems to drip out.

I've done a few experiments in the kitchen, and noted, predictably, that when you add water to the top of a drop line, and plug one of the openings,
in fact you get the same behavior. I've heard the point about this being a
desired effect, as it leads to natural vacuum - but to me, it seems ridiculously slow, and I have concerns about the sap being exposed to the sun for so long, come late March.

So my question is, is this normal? And, if not, what should I do to get things
moving? As you can tell from my message, I'm interested in the details, so please bring em' on - and thanks in advance!

Paul L.

mark bolton
02-23-2010, 11:36 AM
I had the same problem last year on my 2 lateral lines draining into barrels. I did an experiment and vented the top of one line and it produced 2X as much sap/day as the non-vented line. This year I have 6 laterals draining into one main line and they will all be vented. I have heard the arguments that it may introduce bacteria, cause premature hole closure..., but non-vented lines just don't produce for me.

PerryW
02-23-2010, 01:18 PM
I've seen it happen too. I've gone as far as cutting the lateral off at the mainline to make sure the fitting wasn't plugged up. I believe it is the result of the natural vacuum. If you pull a tap higher up, the sap will quickly run into the mainline.

argohauler
02-23-2010, 08:03 PM