PDA

View Full Version : hydrometer

stifflej
02-22-2010, 01:38 PM
I'm new to this, saw in some threads guys talking about using hydrometers, soooo...I understand it helps you determine sugar content, so can someone tell me if this would be a good buy? Don't want to spend a lot, will only be doing a little sap this year. Also, can you tell me if I would need anything to go with this?

Thanks.

http://www.mapleguys.com/index.php?item=20&ret=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mapleguys.com%2Findex.php%3Fp age%3D1%26category%3D9&PHPSESSID=qyvyidslxw

mapleack
02-22-2010, 01:56 PM
IMHO as a small hobbyist, you'd be fine with just a candy thermometer. A hydrometer is a good thing to have and understand how to use though. You'll also need a hydrometer cup, the right height to go with the hydrometer. An explanation of how to use hydrometers is in the North American Maple Producers Manual. Online here: http://web.archive.org/web/20060629024657/ohioline.osu.edu/b856/b856_91.html Good luck!

BryanEx
02-22-2010, 04:18 PM
stifflej... a thermometer will tell you when the sap "should be" syrup... a hydrometer will tell you for sure. For friends and family "should be" is usually good enough but if you're selling any you will need a hydrometer. Given their cost they are one of the easier pieces of equipment to acquire.

KenWP
02-22-2010, 05:20 PM
And a tall SS thermos works okay for a cup. I also used a peice of PVC tube with a cap on the bottom. Works just fine. It's should be legally criminal the prices they charge for a SS hydrometer cup.

TF Maple
02-22-2010, 08:19 PM
I didn't like guessing by temperature last year so I bought that same hydrometer for this year. I also skipped getting the expensive SS cup. I want to try a warmed up quart jar and see if that works. I could make a SS cup sometime since I have an old dairy barn with a SS pipeline in it.

morningstarfarm
02-22-2010, 09:18 PM