PDA

View Full Version : counter sales?

John Burton
02-27-2005, 05:44 PM
This is my first year selling syrup ,and i was wondering .when you sell syrup through a store do you usually sell it to them or just give a percentage of the retail to them?

Kim
02-28-2005, 07:11 AM
John,
We sell at three area stores - two are on a consignment basis and one buys by the case. We have wholesale pricing for all three which is 10-30% less than our internet/sugarhouse pricing (depending on the item), and they set their own prices. Consignment is obviously more labor intensive (stopping in to check inventory, tracking what has sold, etc.) - but the small country stores tend to be more receptive to it and they are stores we shop in anyway, so it's not that big of a deal and it's a good source of steady sales.
Hope that helps.
Kim

maplehound
03-02-2005, 09:14 AM
I sell most of mine out the door and at farm markets. The markets arn't open year round so they buy on consignment. i give them 10% off my out the door price. Then they set there own price. It works good for both since they don't have to carry inventory over the winter. I do the same for bulk food stores on pricing but they ussually buy it outright.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
03-02-2005, 08:21 PM
Last year I made up a nice postcard size brochure on heavyweight white glossy paper to help with marketing and to give info on how maple syurp is made. This year I designed a really nice full page color brochure with a 4x6 color photo on the top half with the 3 sizes of syrup we offer. On the bottom half, I give the prices and sizes of each container along with a large paragraph explaining how maple syrup is made and how much sap it takes to make each gallon. I just print it out on plain white paper and it looks great. All it will cost you is a little ink and some time.