PDA

View Full Version : First Time, Block Arch, want door and steam hood advice, w/pics

Chris W
02-22-2010, 11:54 AM
This is my first year attempt at this already addicting hobby. I've gotten LOTS of great tips/advice just by reading the posts on this great site. I've attached pics of my current progress.

Please don't make fun of my current door (it's an old washer top that was left on the property by the previous owners). I still have to cut an air intake at the bottom of the panel (it is temporarily sitting in place right now). I've struggled with what to use for a front/door and don't really feel like shelling out another $150 if I can help it (I've already invested too much into this temporary set up as I plan to build a steel evaporator next year). Should I insulate and strengthen this front with some angle iron or are there other fairly inexpensive things I can use for a front/door (no welding possible this year)?

I'm in a 10x10 aluminum shed (the new sugar shack). :) I'm guessing steam is going to be a major problem. So I'm planning on fabricating a steam hood using rectangular ductwork stock (like what I used on the arch) and 6" duct through the roof. Any suggestions on inline fans and where I can find them? Any other tips/tricks/plans for steam hoods I should know about?

I plan to transfer sap/syrup from pan 3 to 4, 2 to 3, 1 to 2, and preheat to 1 (4 being closest to the door). I have a SS scoop, but still haven't decided what to do about the pan handles. Should I install handles, put holes in the lips, or just use the ole screwdriver to lift it up.

Thanks again to all the great folks on this site for their contributions and great knowledge sharing. I've been reading this site everyday for the last 6 months.

Chris W
02-22-2010, 12:01 PM
Adding the pictures

C.Wilcox
02-22-2010, 12:27 PM