PDA

View Full Version : Burnt Evaporator Pan

Backyarder
02-23-2005, 06:02 PM
I've been mapling for about 5 years and never had this happen before. Any suggestions would be great:

I've got a half-pint type evaporator with a single stainless steel 2' x 4' pan. Today an experiment in creating maple ash was conducted in the pan - not by me (i.e. - a really, really hot fire evaporated all sap out of the pan and cooked a black ash to the bottom of the pan). :cry: The bottom of the pan is now warped, but not so much that the edges are out of true (it still sits flat on the arch). The warping creates a kind of ripple in the bottom of the pan so it isn't a smooth, level surface in the center of the pan bottom anymore.

Here's the question: is this pan completely shot, or will it at least make syrup for the rest of the season?

I'm using acid to clean the ash out (seems to be working), but am really concerned about whether the warp is going to mean all my tapping and sap are going to be a waste this year.

Backyarder
50 Taps
Southwestern Pennsylvania

sugaring42long
02-23-2005, 08:07 PM
Backyarder, it happens to everyone sooner or later. If its a welded pan just clean it up and run with it. If its soldered you may have some leaks but they can be repaired. Theres lots of warped discolored stainless pans out there making syrup year after year.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-24-2005, 05:54 PM
If it isn't leaking, your good to go for many more years. Just make sure you triple wash the pan to get all of the acid out of it. The ripple effect shouldn't hurt much of anything. Might have to run the level slightly higher, but if the pan sits good, sounds like you came out in pretty good shape.

Clean her up and let her rip!!!!!! :D

howden86
02-24-2005, 09:35 PM
i used a brass wire brush on a drill to help remove the burnt crud along with soaking. i used my pans but just ran deeper and bought new ones for the next year.

emericksmaple
02-24-2005, 10:21 PM