PDA

View Full Version : Some Check Valve Adaptors are Breaking

Tmeeeh
02-13-2010, 05:54 PM
We installed 1012 check valve adapters today. 26 of them broke while tapping them into the tree. We drill the hole, push in the adapter, give it a few taps with a 1 1/2" square by 14" long piece of spruce, then fit the stubby spout and hit the assembly a few more times. Sometimes the breakage occurs before putting the stubby on but more often after. Sometimes they break with a very light tap other times they crack lengthwise and are hardly noticeable. I don't know if any are split and will leak. Removing the broken adapters is a little tricky. Sometimes they can be pulled with pliers. Other times they break off flush with the tree and have to be drilled out, leaving a less than perfectly round tap hole. The temperature was around freezing and we saw some sap on the warmer trees. It seems they need to be made to be stronger. I have no experience with non-check valve adapters. I am still optimistic about them. I just hope we see a noticeable increase in yield by the end of the season.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-13-2010, 06:05 PM
Just thinking out loud, but I would think they would be less likely to break tapping them in with a hammer vs a 14" half of a 2x4. Reason being is that you can get more even blows across the entire surface vs a 14" piece of wood which may be hitting off center or on the one side of the adapter causing it to break. I put in 250 of the regular adapters last year and didn't have any of them break.

sapman
02-13-2010, 06:25 PM
The last batch of CVs I got last week actually have instructions on installing them. As I've been told before, procedure should be to tap the CV in first, then push the stubby in with a 1/4 turn twist. I haven't tried any yet, so I can't vouch for that method, but sounds good. Good luck with the rest of them!

Tim

danno
02-13-2010, 06:39 PM