PDA

View Full Version : Hole spacing year to year

Maplesedge
02-12-2010, 04:10 PM
I'm pretty new at this, so I'll ask you guys. If I tap the same tree every year, avoiding the old holes by 4-6" on a side, and not directly below or above, is there a point when I'll run out of circumfrence on the tree to tap?

Take a 10" diameter tree for ease of example. Thats about 31" around. After about 6 years I've come back around close to my first hole. What then? Find another tree? Offset the holes between two old ones but a bit lower?

The tree will grow a bit, but still, when do I run out of room?

Plus, it's not always easy to find all the old holes, especially on a young tree.

How critical is this? How close do you guys tap to old holes?

DrTimPerkins
02-12-2010, 05:07 PM
I'm pretty new at this, so I'll ask you guys. If I tap the same tree every year, avoiding the old holes by 4-6" on a side, and not directly below or above, is there a point when I'll run out of circumfrence on the tree to tap?

You should move the tapholes each year not only horizontally, but also vertically up and down. If you're on gravity tubing or buckets, you only need move a few inches from an old taphole horizontally and a foot vertically. If you're on vacuum, you'll want at least 4-6" horizontally and a foot vertically.

The idea is to utilize the full tapping band of the tree, which is a zone from the lowest point you can tap to the highest point you can reach, all around the circumference of the tree. There is no need to space your tapholes in a regular pattern, although some people do.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-12-2010, 05:33 PM
I am not recommending this but I use all 5/16" spouts and a couple of years ago, I tapped within 1" of a prior year taphole and hit good white wood. 1 of the holes was directly above and the other was directly to the side on a different tree.

Russell Lampron
02-13-2010, 06:54 AM