PDA

View Full Version : Best Flannel Shirt?

BryanEx
02-11-2010, 06:00 PM
As a maple producer I feel it's imperative that I be dressed appropriately with a red flannel shirt while boiling but here's the delema...

I had a great shirt for years that only seemed to become more comfy with each wash when the stickiness of spilled syrup and smell of wood smoke became to great for even me to bare. One day I accidentally caught the lower front of the shirt on a nail head and tore a huge triangle of fabric loose. Heartbroken, I went out and purchased a replacement thinking that all would be good again - but I was wrong. Within a week some of the snap buttons started pulling through the fabric and the quilted lining started to bunch up. Despite several attempts at replacing my old favourite similar issues have been repeated over and over again.

Please help me out here. Who makes a good quality quilted red flannel shirt so I can once again be a well dressed maple syrup guy? I'd really prefer one that has side pockets, snap buttons, a breast pocket with that little slit for a pen to go through the flap (for my thermometer), and no hood attached.

I realize that most members here are US based but I have no problem shopping cross-border if needed to get my perfect sugurin' shirt instead of the disposable made in China stuff I seem to end up with. Who cares about a Thunderbolt evaporator? I want my flannel shirt back! :cry:

farmall h
02-11-2010, 06:09 PM
Well, if I were you... I would keep the thoughts of the Thunderbolt evaporator and go online to the Woolrich site. They have some mighty fine outdoor wear. Good luck!

vtmaplemaker
02-11-2010, 06:16 PM
forget the flannel... go with wool, and no one makes a better wool shirt/coat then Johnsons Wollen Mills in Johnson, VT

stoweski
02-11-2010, 06:41 PM
forget the flannel... go with wool, and no one makes a better wool shirt/coat then Johnsons Wollen Mills in Johnson, VT