PDA

View Full Version : stack advice needed

stoweski
02-04-2010, 07:03 PM
Hi everyone,

I have my sugarshack built and ready to used. Since it's my first year sugaring I'm starting with a new-to-me 1/2 pint evaporator. It has a 6" flue opening. Here's my dilemma...

My problem is I recently received a price on a chimney stack of $700. That includes 6" single wall stove pipe that runs from the evaporator up to the ceiling joists (about 5'), a single walled Tee at the bottom for easy cleaning of the flue, a connection box (not sure of the correct name for it) that would attach the stove pipe to the chimney pipe (and for extra support of the stack), 8' of double walled stainless insulated chimney pipe, a roof jack and flange, and a chimney cap.

With that kind of price and the possibility of upgrading to a larger evaporator down the road, I thought about going to an 8" stack now instead of having to pay for it again.

SO, I got a price on the same stuff, only in an 8" stack. That came to $1100.

My questions:
1. Is this typically what people use in their shack for a stack?
1a. If not, what do people use (safely)?
2. Do the prices seem reasonable? Is this the typical price people pay for a new stack? I'm actually getting a discount because the guy is a friend who owns the stovery shop!
3. Exactly what type of stack comes with a new evaporator... is it single walled stove pipe or is it double walled, insulated chimney pipe?

Thanks for any help you can offer. I like being prepared and fortunately this is the last thing on my list to accomplish before starting the season.

Keith

KenWP
02-04-2010, 07:20 PM
Is that a SS roof jack and flange. That might not need to be SS. The double wall all fuels pipe is pretty expensive all over.The suppliers have used ones for sale all the time.

JuniperHillSugar
02-04-2010, 08:22 PM
Stoweski,

Stainless is expensive, durable and pretty, did I mention expensive.