PDA

View Full Version : boiling pan question

stifflej
02-02-2010, 12:08 PM
I am new to this, going to tap my first trees as soon as PA weather allows (which may be July around here) and have been reading about different pans which can be used. My question is about pans with divides, from what I have read, it states that you always pour the sap in one corner, and from the opposite corner you can drain just about finished syrup. I am not sure I can follow this logic (just can't picture how it would work). Can someone explain, possibly with some pics so I can get a grasp on it? Also, if I were to use 2 full size steam table pans, 6" deep, could I put a connection between them to create this setup, and a valve at one end that I could use to drain off the finished sap? Also, could I just use threaded steel pipe to make the connections?

Sorry for what is probably a stupid set of questions, but I don't have any one that has ever done this before.

Thanks for the help.

SilverLeaf
02-02-2010, 12:22 PM
not a dumb question! I don't have pics, but basically the process works because the dividers create what is, in effect, a big long trough. the liquid in the trough doesn't really move laterally on its own, so what's at one end of the trough never gets mixed back together with what's at the other end of the trough. the only time the liquid ever moves laterally is when more is added to one end. That pushes the liquid down the trough a little ways because liquid always wants to level out. So because you are consistently adding the sap in the same end of the trough, the liquid is just gradually, over time, working its way to the other end. And over time what happens is that only liquid that's been in the pan for awhile makes it to the far end, by the draw off valve, so that becomes syrup, while what's at the beginning of the trough where you're adding it, stays diluted a bit.

SilverLeaf
02-02-2010, 12:30 PM