PDA

View Full Version : start up and shut down

TRAILGUY
02-01-2010, 05:08 AM
this is my first year with used 2X6 raised flue. Want to put a note on the wall of steps for start up and shut down to help wife and I stay focused on steps. anyone have steps all ready written??

Dave Y
02-01-2010, 06:18 AM
Dont have it wrote down but a mental check list kinda goes like this. Sap in holding tank ,transfer pump operating, head tank full of sap, valve open on head tank , valve open to per heater, valve to rear float box open,float set and operational, sap in back pan at desired depth, valve to front pan open, check front float valve for operation, front pan at desired depth, fuel in arch and light, bring to boil anddraw off at 7degs above the point of boling water that day. Boil till you have enough sap to shut down with let fire die down until you have no more sap coming in , all the while keep your liquid depth at the proper level. when the fire is out close all valves and go to bed! Good luck If i Missed anything I sorry just dont burn your pans. I am not responsable for the content of this message.

TRAILGUY
02-01-2010, 06:58 AM
START-UP

1.Check Sap in supply tank (100 gallons)
2.Place 5 gallon bucket under open line drain valve.
3.Open valve on supply tank and fill 5 gallon emergency bucket then close drain valve.
4.Open valve to float box , check floats are operational and sap is flowing.
5. Light, bring to boil
6.Draw off and filter at 7degs above the point of bolling water that day.

SHUT_DOWN

7. One hour before shut -down let fire die down until you have no more sap coming in , all the while keep your liquid depth at the proper level.
8. When the fire is out close valve on supply tank and pour 5 gallon emergency bucket into sap pan.
9.Open drain valve and drain feed line into 5 gallon bucket.
10.Close valve to float box and go to bed!

Good luck If i Missed anything I sorry just don't burn your pans. I am not responsible for the content of this message.