PDA

View Full Version : Arch questions

stifflej
01-29-2010, 01:57 PM
I am going to try making my own syrup this year, and have been seeing alot on arches, can someone post a couple pics of your home made arches to give me an idea of what you are talking about, and what I should start planning for?

Thanks.

Haynes Forest Products
01-29-2010, 07:06 PM
Are we talking a 2x2 2x4 6x16 a little help please. If its a 2x2 Ill show you how to make a arch out of a drum with 2 hinges and a stove pipe with elbo in less that a hr with a sawzal.:lol:

stifflej
02-01-2010, 07:04 AM
I guess a 2x2

PerryW
02-01-2010, 07:22 AM
If you are building an arch, I would make it bigger than 2x2. It's better to have the pan at least twice as long as it is wide so your fire box is in the front half and they heat from the wood is used to also boil sap in the back half of the pan instead of going right up the chimney.

stifflej
02-01-2010, 07:26 AM
OK, fine 2x4, I have no knowledge of any of this, that is why I asked to see pics, I have no idea what an arch even looks like. I plan on doing about 15 taps this year, just to see if I can do it, and if I like it. Any pics/directions would be great. Thanks.

Big_Eddy
02-01-2010, 09:14 AM
Here are 2 different simple setups. 2x3 pan. Good for 5-6 gallons an hour. Needs 60 gallons of sap for a batch to finish on the fire. Otherwise - plan on finishing on the stove.

Can easily handle your 15 trees boiling on the weekends only. Store the sap on snow/ice in the shade.

stifflej
02-01-2010, 09:44 AM
Thanks for the pics, look like they should be easy enough to make...and already have most of the stuff needed, except the pan...

Gary R
02-02-2010, 06:07 AM
Here's another picture of a small barrel arch. If you don't have materilals or a welder, Big Eddy's pictures are the way to go for a begineer.

stifflej
02-02-2010, 07:01 AM