PDA

View Full Version : In the dark but...

innoxen
01-26-2010, 07:02 PM
Hello All... In Northeast Pa. and gonna try this tapping thing... If I bust my butt, work hard, get a gallon of something sweet and start something with my family I will be happy... Have some trees, got 4.2 gal plastic jugs ( had cooking oil in them ), some tubing, and like 12 taps... Having 2 stainless steel pans made, fire ring, and a bunch of wood from crew clearing power line... as a newbie I guess I am heading in the right direction, I think... So the question is what do you all think??? Any thoughts would be great.. Thanks and may the sap flow...

gator330
01-26-2010, 07:08 PM
First of all welcome to the trader. Second of all your on the right track. Collect sap reduce to 66 brix with any means possible. Have fun with family doing it and put tasty sticky syrup on every thing from pancakes to ice cream. Wait 12 months and make more then the first year....... this will become part your life from hear on out. welcome to the addiction!!!!

Smitty
01-26-2010, 08:14 PM
Noxen,PA,
Welcome, You will be more than happy, this is just the start of a family
tradition, there will be generations of syrup makers to come.
Bring on the sap and good luck.:mrgreen:

Al Smith

On the ledge
01-26-2010, 09:04 PM
Do it!! I tried last year for my first time. My wife was chuckling as I was out on the the deck with my turkey fryer when it got close to syrup I said try this , she took a sip and was hooked. now when I say I want to tap more trees there's no arguement. I only had 8 taps last year but am going to 20 this year, I had planned on getting an evaporator this year, but am putting on an in-law apartment instead, but next year she who must be obeyed said I could get one . The only thing is I didnt tell her was that it that there needs to be a sugar shack over it, lol. when you you read this is an addiction don't laugh need to tap more and make more!!

Bucket Head
01-26-2010, 09:04 PM