PDA

View Full Version : Waterloo Flue Pan Question

abovetheclouds2
01-25-2010, 09:16 AM
I have a homemade block arch that I have been using a 5' X 6' Waterloo Raised Flue Pan on for the past 2 years. I have never been sure what is the front and rear of this pan. One end has the flues exposed that I have been putting up against my syrup pan. I am considering turning the pan around since I am re-working my stack this year. It seems that I would get better draft and heat transfer if the heat goes through the flues and directly out the back and up my twin 10" stacks instead if being forced down to the bottom of the flues and up the stacks like it is now. Anyone familiar with this pan?

Haynes Forest Products
01-25-2010, 01:24 PM
Do you have only the flue pan MINUS the finish pans? Sounds like you are only using the FLUE pan. I do understand the Waterloo flue pan set up. Mine is reversable as far as side to side front to back. Are you using 2 10s because of space or cost? You want the heat/flue gas to go thru the flues and also the bottom of the flues to get all the surface area as possible. The arch should be very narrow in that area so the heat/gases are forced thru/past the flues Its all about surface area so use it all.

farmall h
01-25-2010, 05:55 PM
Where is your float located? Should be on the back right. If so that is the back of the pan. Where is your flow pipe located? (the one you switch from side to side...generally opposite of your draw-off side) If it is in the back...than that is the back of the pan. Hope this info helps.

KenWP
01-25-2010, 06:19 PM
Any chance you can tell the bacl of the pan by which end is closest to the stack.

Haynes Forest Products
01-25-2010, 06:43 PM