PDA

View Full Version : single 5/16 sap ladder?

backyardsugarer
01-23-2010, 07:24 PM
I have about 20 taps I could pick up that are all down hill from my mailine. I was thinking about running all 20 to one later line and then running that line to a tree directly below my mainline. The lift would be 4' straight up. Would vac (17"-20") suck the sap up that height? I know the right way to do it is with a star and a mainline but I do not have the time to mess with that this year. I know the flow would not be as good as it could be but it is 20 more taps. Any input would be appreciated.

Chris

3rdgen.maple
01-23-2010, 11:13 PM
I am not a tubing expert by any means, but you got to think if a tree can push sap to its top branches that it will push it 4 feet and the vac would just be bonus.

maplwrks
01-24-2010, 05:43 AM
Chris,
I have a couple of spots where I need to do this. I "barberpole" around a tree and run it straight into the main. If you have that much vacuum, it will work fine. It's kinda cool when the sap runs to watch the sap go up the tree.

backyardsugarer
01-24-2010, 06:34 AM
so I should barder pole instead of going straight up. Makes sense (gradual climb). Thanks, I will be adding some taps to day with that info.

Chris

Squaredeal
01-24-2010, 08:42 AM
I have seen plenty of laterals that run uphill into mainlines -I have a few here. Sticking to the 'strive for five' axiom is very important in such a situation, and if you could split the 20 taps up into two - four laterals there would be no problem -especially if the elevation change is gradual.
I have had places that run downhill with 20 taps on 24" of vacuum and at the end of the lateral there is A LOT less vacuum. It sometimes takes a bunch of tubing and fittings to correct this, but the increased yield more than makes up for it.

Dennis H.
01-24-2010, 10:48 AM
I have a few places were I have lat's that go down a hill to pick up a few trees that otherwise I wouldn't tap.