PDA

View Full Version : OMG this is killing me...

morningstarfarm
01-23-2010, 01:01 PM
Started running tubing lines today...first 10 or so t's I tacked to trees started peeing all over me...tastes pretty sweet too.....I sooo need to tap but I need to build the arch for my pans first or with my luck I'll have 500 gals of sap and nothing to cook it on.....

Russell Lampron
01-23-2010, 02:25 PM
Why are you tacking T's to trees? Normally tubing can be run without using any nails.

morningstarfarm
01-23-2010, 02:53 PM
this is my first time running tubing...always used buckets. Some of them were pretty far apart or on sharp angles so the tubing was slipping down. they started dripping at 10am and are still doing it now.....its still killing me not having taps in

gator330
01-23-2010, 03:01 PM
Pull the tube tight from tree to tree. Even go around a few other none maple if need be to keep it up and tight. Those nail holes will leak sap all season. pull them if not now when the season is over. You don't want them to grow into the tree. If you need to let the tape and drop hold up the line. But it can be pulled real tight. hook the end of the tube around a tree with a Y. T your drops into your lateral line from tree to tree. Then them into the main line or tank if your going to a tank with the 5/16. No nails in the maple trees!!! YOu can realy streach that 5/16 tight.

Haynes Forest Products
01-23-2010, 05:42 PM
One reason to nail to the tree every so often is at the last tap near the mainline to keep the stress of the line. Another is if limbs come down on the line it wont transfer all the way to the ends pulling taps. It isolates the damage. I have plenty of healthy trees that have 40 years of barbed wire with insulators on them 4 rows

gator330
01-23-2010, 05:47 PM
My thought was with the saw blade at the mill!!!

morningstarfarm
01-23-2010, 08:32 PM
Sawblade???? cut down one of my maples???? BITE YOUR TONGUE

smitty76
01-24-2010, 06:55 AM