PDA

View Full Version : container size?

John Burton
02-09-2005, 07:57 PM
I was wondering how everyone determines how to package their syrup?this is my first year on my own so i dont have any orders yet is there a rule of thumb to follow?i just dont want to package into the wrong size container and not be able to move the product. how ever i am only going to produce approximatly 25 gal of syrup so i am not sure packing in 5 gal containers to store is right either as i might loose out on grade quality by mixing my batches? any thoughts.

mapleman3
02-09-2005, 08:00 PM
Quarts and pints and some gallons is what I do.. folks seem to like the quarts the best.. 10 bucks is what I charge, prolly sold 35 gallons in qts last year maybe 10 in gallon size.. the rest pts and 1/2's

brookledge
02-09-2005, 09:57 PM
Quarts is my most popular size and half gal. is probably next. For me I try to keep a decent supply of every size. The reason putting some in bulk is you never know for sure what you are going to need. As you start to get low on what is put up you can re-can some of your bulk to meet your needs.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-10-2005, 06:16 AM
I can't give gallons away and have a hard enough time with 1/2 gallons. I bottle everything in quarts and pints and sell about 3 quarts for every one pint. :?

ebourassa
02-10-2005, 08:28 AM
I was told that not to buy gallon jugs just 1/2 gallon jugs and if some one would want a gallon I would give them 2 -1/2 gallons. a gallon jug is a litlte big for most people and their Fridge, and I they never go through fast enough, so i tell them to put on in their fridge and the other in the freezer. But I found the quart for 10.00 sells the best.
Erik

mapleman3
02-10-2005, 08:41 AM
I always find it good to bottle a feww gallons each grade in gallons, for some folks who put it in their freezer and draw out of it when they need it

syrupmaker
02-10-2005, 09:54 AM