PDA

View Full Version : Nitre and scale with 8% sap

Brent
12-18-2009, 12:25 PM
Now that the new RO is getting set up and I've got a second syrup pan so I can clean one while boiling in the other ... I start dreaming about nitre build up.

Is it pretty proportional to time spend boiling or directly related to syrup produced. Will I get the same amount of nitre in 6 hours boiling even though with the RO I should make about 3 - 4 times as much syrup ???

Thompson's Tree Farm
12-18-2009, 05:52 PM
Brent,
I have only one year experience with the RO and so I am no expert but my experience is this: I made 4x as much syrup per hour and probably got 4x as much sugar sand and build up per hour. I'd say the sand/nitre is in the product and is related to the amount of syrup produced, not the time boiling. I'm sure there are others with more experience who can comment on this.

KenWP
12-18-2009, 05:53 PM
I would say it has to remain the same as some niter has to be removed with the water in the RO. You pass a certain amount of sugar through so a certain amount of niter has to be going thru also.

Russell Lampron
12-19-2009, 05:51 AM
My experience has been that the nitre tends to stay suspended in the syrup and I can make alot more syrup before the pan gets dirty. When the evaporator is only boiling for about 3 hours at a time instead of 12 for the same amount of raw sap the nitre doesn't have time to burn on to the bottom of the pan.

Anything that has a larger molecule than water stays in the concentrated sap when you run it through an RO. Most of it ends up in the filter press.

DrTimPerkins
12-19-2009, 07:56 AM
I made 4x as much syrup per hour and probably got 4x as much sugar sand and build up per hour. I'd say the sand/nitre is in the product and is related to the amount of syrup produced, not the time boiling.