PDA

View Full Version : Frozen sap in flue pan

Low budget maple
12-16-2009, 08:59 AM
I have recently upgraded to a flue pan from my old long days with a flat pan. My shack new shack will not be complete by the new season. I am forced to play out in the weather. Will the drop flues freeze and and destroy my new toy ??? Any advise is greatly appriciated

red maples
12-16-2009, 09:20 AM
newbie here, but I wouldn't think so the increase in volume and pressure from expansion due to freezing would be forced up, right. Besides do many guys have heated sugarhouses? I know some do so but many don't they would be cold inside too. if you are worried just drain it low enough so you don't worry, if it freezes. just my thought.

3rdgen.maple
12-16-2009, 09:26 AM
Just put a heat lamp inside of the arch at night it is better to be safe than sorry. Being outside the wind chill factor comes into play.

smitty76
12-16-2009, 09:27 AM
I have a flue pan in a un-heated sap house and it has frozen several times. After you boil in it the first time and get the sugar content up some it does not freeze completely solid, at least not for me in 0 degree weather. I have been useing that solder pan for 17 yrs now with no problems

woodshillmaple
12-16-2009, 09:58 AM
The windchill doesn't really matter on non-living things. The only thing it will do is make it cool off more quickly but will not take the temperature below what the actual temperature is. For example, if it is 15 degrees out with a windchill of -5 the temperature of the evaporator will still only get down to 15 degrees.

Low budget maple
12-16-2009, 11:57 AM
That you folks !!! I thought the same but as we all know stainless is pricey and I just wanted to be safe. Tap on !!

nymapleguy607
12-16-2009, 05:47 PM
I plan on only completly draining my new evaporator during extended periods of cold weather. I was always taught better safe than sorry. Plus it gives me the oportunity to clean everything good.

KenWP
12-16-2009, 05:59 PM