PDA

View Full Version : homemade airtight door

tuckermtn
12-15-2009, 05:28 AM
I have a friend who is making me an airtight front door for my 2.5 x 8. plan is to have a blower from under the arch blow toward the front and up through some grates - but wondering if I should bother to have air injection all over the place like I've seen on other rigs, or can I just keep it simple and have the air go through the grates? looking for simple and relatively reliable -

Gary R
12-15-2009, 06:50 AM
I'm no expert, but here's my 2 cents. Adding air over is a good thing. All of the more efficient commercial arches use it. It makes sense to burn up all the flue gases in the firebox. Both air methods you mentioned would be reliable. I added air over to mine. It is not simple. It requires plenum's, nozzles and brick cutting. I would suggest adding the air under the grate this year. It's usually simple. I would think about adding air over after this season. Gives you more time to figure it out.

Paddymountain
12-15-2009, 01:26 PM
I have a 2.5x8 that I made new airtight doors for ,and also have made it
forced air on top of the grates. What I did was run a 2x4 box beam down each side of the evaporator and out through the back . There I mounted a
squirrel cage fan on each side. I have a 1/4 inch hole drilled every 4 inches on the box beam . The box beams take the place of the row of firebrick at grate level. I just continued from there up with firebrick. I ran a test boil in November and it looks like it's going to work well. I agree air over fire is the way to go,it burns up all the gases ,I have hardly any smoke coming from the stack.

smitty76
12-15-2009, 04:27 PM
I agree with Gary R. I have a 2x6 smallbros that I built an air over draft for it and it is not simple. I would also use an under draft til the season is over to construct an over draft. I have been using mine for 2 yrs now and it does make a difference.

StewieSugar
12-18-2009, 12:16 PM